Reviews

Emma Chamberlain recommends High Ridge Barn

28th January 2019 (See on Facebook)

Just wow wow wow!! High Ridge Barn is not only in a fantastic peaceful real countryside setting but the cottage itself is total 5 star luxury! Every detail and comfort has been thought through... from 1000 thread count bedding to boot warmers, a dog washing hut, dimming bed side lights, a fabulous free standing bath and huge wet room shower, super fast broadband, DVDs and games, massive comfy sofas, nightlights, binoculars and bird feeders (total bird spotting convert!), eggs fresh from their hens, top of the range kitchen and every gadget you could need... I could go on and on!! The owners are charming, fun, genuine and care deeply. There is a huge amount of substance and love that has gone into this inspiring renovation! No corners have been cut, it actually is as spacious and lovely as the pics look and the bedrooms are all lovely and a decent distance apart. An absolute must if you want to visit this area and a good excuse if you haven’t considered the area before!

Sue Hinnett recommends High Ridge Barn

8th January 2019 (See on Facebook)

Six of us stayed in the barn the weekend before Xmas, what can I say... Stunning surroundings, the barn was incredible, every detail had been thought of, so tastefully decorated for xmas I honestly could not find anything which would have improved our stay (perhaps better weather)!! The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Our two dogs loved it as well!! We will be back!!

From our guest book

29th December 2018

A wonderful weekend in a barn made even more idyllic by the perfect festive decorations. Rosie & Rob made us feel so comfortable and welcome on arrival, none happier than the two dogs with us, ''go and pee on everything boys!'' We can't wait to come back in the summer time to sample some of the local hiking that we hear is around once the mist and rain parts! Thanks so much

From our guest book

14th December 2018

What a fantastic holiday break! This is our first time away from our homes around this festive period and we couldn't have chosen a more tranquil and idyllic location than High Ridge Barn. Rosie & Rob are the perfect hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived to our regrettable departure. The Barn is fantastic and finished off to an extremely high standard with every amenity you could wish for. The Barn was perfect for our Labrador dog and Rosie and Rob took centre stage in ensuring Bobbi (the dog) enjoyed the doggie spa, with a shampoo and blow dry!! We will not hesitate to recommend this place to all our friends and are planning next year's trip already. Rosie and Rob are our friends for life! Thanks a bunch.

From our guest book

30th November 2018

We have had a fabulous time and couldn't have asked for more from Rosie, Rob or the cottage! We were celebrating my mother-in-law's 70th birthday - there were six of us and little Kevin, the Norfolk Terrier, who loved meeting Dixie and Jessie. We couldn't have been made more welcome (with eggs, bread and beer) on our arrival. Rosie was also up to greet us, which was very nice after a long drive! We went on a couple of walks in the local area, coming back to doggie baths and a sauna, which was amazing! The pub recommended (the Lazy Trout) was great for Sunday lunch. We're really sad to be leaving and looking forward to coming back soon!

From our guest book

23th November 2018

We were a group of seven for our annual hiking trip! After a very long drive from London on Friday night, we were made very welcome on arrival by hosts Rosie & Rob. The house was in amazing condition with the eggs, home made bread, and local ales - a much appreciated gesture. We spend the Saturday on a wonderful hike through the Roaches, with Lud's Church a highlight. Upon return, the sauna was prepared and was a novel way to relax sore muscles! We certainly hope to return for future trips! Thank you again so much Rob & Rosie!

Lucy Morris recommends High Ridge Barn

8th November 2018 (See on Facebook)

We had a fantastic stay at High Ridge Barn and couldn’t have asked for more. Beautifully appointed with everything you could need. Great scenery and walking right on the doorstep - something for everyone. We had a lovely meal out at The Lazy Trout and the curry from Pabna was sublime. Safe to say that we cannot wait to come back for another stay in the new year!

Absolutely fabulous and stylish property, in an incredible location

November 2018 (See on HomeAway)

The property is wonderfully presented and is absolutely immaculate throughout. The furnishings and fittings are of an extremely high standard, it has been modernised with great care and detail whilst managing to retain character with its original features subtly positioned in each room. As soon as we entered the property we were immediately taken in by it’s cosy atmosphere which certainly helped us relax and enjoy the fabulous countryside and views. The surrounding area is simply beautiful. The property is ideally positioned for walking and exploring this exquisite part of the Peak District. On arrival, we were provided with a guided tour and the owners had baked us fresh bread and muffins and had left a few bottles of real ale from the Wincle Brewery, and some fresh eggs which was a lovely gesture. If you book this property, you will not be disappointed I promise. Thank you Rob and Rosie for an amazing break!

From our guest book

1st November 2018

8 humans and 1 dog meeting in the Peak District as the halfway point between our homes in Bath and Newcastle-upon-Tyne. We feel so privileged and lucky to have found High Ridge Barn - what a fabulous property and so well equipped - we wanted for nothing. We loved the sauna and all the thoughtful inclusions for the canine member of the party. 2 fabulous walks to the Roaches and Lud's Church - both very much recommended. Thank you Rob & Rosie - we will be back

Paradise in the Peak District

29th October 2018 (See on HomeAway)

Sometimes reality does not match the anticipation. Nothing could be further from such at Highridge Barn as the ”WoW” factor kicks in from the moment the outstanding hosts, Ron and Rosie, welcome you. The accommodation surpasses any anticipation from the pictures on the website - spacious, light, fitted out to the highest specification and equipped for every eventuality. The dog grooming facilities were so good that Grandpa contemplated using them as a private facility! The sauna is a must - as it is a proper sauna with cold (and hot!) shower. The scenery is stunning and the walks from the front door are awesome. By now you will have gleaned that our time in Highridge Barn was very, very special. Rob and Rosie have endeavoured to make your stay as special as they can - successfully; no self-catering accommodation will ever be the same again as they have set the benchmark very high indeed. Have no qualms, this is one booking you will not regret!

Amazing high-spec barn in a beautiful setting with fantastic hosts!

5th September 2018 (See on TripAdvisor)

Loved this fantastic barn, everything was perfect! It was spacious, well-equipped and all 8 of us felt very comfortable in this high-specification holiday rental. The owners were very friendly and great hosts. Nothing was a problem. They live next door which is ideal if you need to ask anything but they give you privacy if/when needed. They reassured us from the outset that they have no issue with noise. They absolutely love dogs and provide for pets also. They provided a bed, toys, treats and even a professional grooming area to wash them in. The sauna is a lovely add on and it had the best view I've ever had from a sauna!

From our guest book

31st August 2018

We arrived on Friday 31/8/18 and were taken aback with the very warm welcome, beautiful surroundings & weather. The Barn is fantastic, extremely well equipped and everything is of a very high standard. Looking forward to our return visit. Thank you Rob & Rosie we love it here.

Superb place to stay

26th August 2018 (See on TripAdvisor)

This luxurious, yet homely, Peak District barn was perfect in everyway. The owners have created a contemporary interior but maintained and restored the barn's characteristics. The sitting room with its high beamed ceilings and large window, which enabled you to watch the birds feeding on the pergola and look out onto uninterrupted countryside views was probably a favourite of mine. The barn was very well equipped with everything we needed. The indoor and outdoor games were an added bonus to our entertainment. Everything from the bed linen & towels to the free standing bath were of superb quality. Rosie and Rob were always on hand if you needed anything. Thank you for the wonderful welcome pack and the organic bathroom toiletries. We all had a truly amazing and fabulous time. We will certainly be booking to stay here again.

Perfect

9th August 2018 (See on TripAdvisor)

Peak District Barn Conversion: a wonderful holiday retreat, stylish and architectural, yet comfy and a real home. We stayed at High Ridge Barn during five days in august, 2018. It is a surprisingly complete and very well designed cottage with plenty of room for eight people; three bathrooms; a very complete kitchen, open plan with dining area with superb views. All a fine combination of fresh and tasteful modern design and functionality with warm features such as sumptuous sofa's, pillows, beautiful oak flooring, luxuriously large and comfortable beds and exquisite decoration. All high end but tastefully done and non-intrusive. The owners are very kind and really made us feel most welcome. In the outside area the views of the wonderful Peak district continue; it allows for perfect breakfasts in the morning sun and al fresco dining. A fine bbq, a sauna, a large terrace, a lawn with the possibility to improve one's golf swings. Walks into the surrounding countryside start at the doorstep. Although we did not bring a pet ourselves, we could see dogs are very welcome, based on e.g. special amenities for them and the enthusiasm the owners displayed in this respect. The house is very clean and contains everything one could wish for. Pleasant surprises were the extremely fast wifi, the continuous hot water supply and details such as boot heating in the entrance/cloakroom. A splendid extra after long autumn and winter walks we imagined. Buxton is nearby, a wonderful town with a.so an opera house an fine independent shops. Furthermore some very nice restaurants(the owners know the area and are happy to inform you about the possibilities). A perfect base to explore and enjoy The Peak District and to relax! We certainly recommend High Ridge Barn to others and plan to come back to it.